“Team that became a second family”- Yann | Experience of an Environmental Engineer

As environmental engineer working for the Swiss Foundation Antenna, I worked for 3.5 months (mid March – June, 2017) on the safe water program of ECCA. It was my first time in Nepal and I thank the team that became a second family for me and shared both the local culture and their professional experience with me.

I was very impressed by ECCA program in schools where they raised awareness very efficiently among the students and initiated an innovative model where children are used to spread the knowledge among their families. The will to shift from NGO subsidized approach towards social business to ensure the viability of the solutions proposed is very positive as it is the only way to ensure long term sustainability.

ECCA is surely a very good and experienced social mobilizer and I was happy to be able to bring my technical skills to help analyzing the business and strategy. The few months spend on the field were however not enough to see the implementation of the propositions but I hope my contribution will somehow help in the future.

I arrived alone, worked with colleagues, but it is certainly friends I left in Nepal! See you again and thank you for this great experience!
DSC_5729

As Yann provided NRs.25,000 as proposal grant to Kitini Secondary School on behalf of Antenna Foundation during 4th National Child Club Conference organized by ECCA

– Yann Füllemann

Leave a Reply

