An Experience: From Switzerland To The Fields of ECCA

michale

On the 28th of October 2014 I arrived in Kathmandu. It was my first time ever in Nepal, and I expected quite a culture change. Already during the ride from the airport to the guest house, driving through the dense traffic, made me anticipate an unforgettable experience. Employed by Antenna Foundation Switzerland, an NGO supporting ECCA and selling the WATA technology, my mission was to support the ECCA safe water team in any technical issues. I mainly advised ECCA on how to improve the production of chlorine and the testing solutions like the WATA Test and WATA Blue. ECCA uses the WATA Technology since several years and has done a very good job maintaining the quality of its products. I generally gave recommendations to make the whole production processes a bit more professional and also to prepare for a possible increase in the production quantity of the ECCA bottled chlorine.

Testing water during field visit by Mr. Michael

Testing water during field visit by Mr. Michael

Besides the work in ECCAs laboratory, I got the chance to see several sites all around Kathmandu where ECCA products or projects are implemented. The visit of the Bandighat slum was a very special event, as I realized how ECCA chlorine can help the very poorest, improve their health and even promote entrepreneurship. Through the field excursion I also visited two schools, where the WATASol project has been implemented. It was amazing to see how these schools adopted the technology and are able to produce their chlorine every day by themselves. The experiences that I have made motivate me to further work in the development of clean water technologies.

Checking with the students on using chlorine solution.

Checking with the students on using chlorine solution.

I specially want to thank Rabindra for taking me to various sites on his motorbike, but also Merina, Bipin, Prachet and the whole ECCA team for their exciting field trips they organized for me. They also contributed a lot “off-work” as they considerably enhanced my Nepal experience through visits to traditional festivals, MOMO places and out of Kathmandu to the famous tea gardens of Bhotechaur. My stay in Nepal was an unforgettable experience, and I hope to someday return. In the meanwhile I wish ECCA all the best for their further work.

Meeting students during field visit.

Meeting students during field visit.

By: Michael Vogt (Anteena Technologies Foundation)

One thought on “An Experience: From Switzerland To The Fields of ECCA

Leave a Reply

